The gun that irritated me……

When I was 15 years old, I had a gun pointed at me. I probably neglected to tell my parents.

I had recently made the move (the bounce between parents) from a small town with more cows than people to a large city in Virginia.

I ran because I was scared and needed to figure things out. This is honest.

15 was a very difficult year for me. Everything I thought I knew had shifted (again) and I was trying to figure it out (again). I didn’t really trust at 15. I didn’t trust the things I thought I knew because every time I thought I believed in something, it changed. I didn’t trust the people that said they loved me, my own beliefs, or life in general.

I chose to move to Virginia, to Mom’s house.

There were no cows there. There were a lot of buildings and traffic. There were no small stores where everyone knew your name, your grandmother, or what they thought was your story. There were a lot of people. There was a lot of room to wander in that city.

I embraced everything new and threw caution out the window. I was going to figure it out on my own. I was tired of trusting people.

It was late at night. Honestly, it may have been one of those nights that I ran away. I ran away a lot in Virginia.

I ran to protect myself most of the time.

I had fallen in love for the first time while I was in Virginia. I was with him late that night.

It was a sketchy part of town.

A guy came up to us while we were walking. They knew each other. They said hi to each other.

Then the strange guy that I didn’t know pulled out a gun.

I’m not going to lie. I was pretty ticked about the whole situation.

Who does that?

Who says ‘hello’ and pulls out a gun?

My boyfriend took off. He literally saw the gun and ran; left me there.

I forgot about the guy with the gun, temporarily.

I remember yelling at him, the boyfriend.

I yelled at him as he ran away. I was very angry at him for leaving me there. I was surprised that he ran. I let him know all of this while he was running.

I don’t remember what I said, but I have a pretty good idea.

Then I turned to the guy with the gun.

I remember he laughed because he had made someone run.

I didn’t think first. I just reacted.

His laughter irritated me. The gun irritated me.

I let him know it.

He apologized to me, put the gun away and left.

© LifeasChristine, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to LifeasChristine with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

