The re-gifted rose…

rose

He was a friend of my brother’s. My brother wasn’t really crazy about me dating his friends when we were young, but honestly growing up, I felt the same way about him dating my friends.

He picked me up and we went back to his house. He said he had forgotten something. I sat in his vehicle as he ran into his house.

He came out with a cold rose still wrapped in plastic.

I laughed and asked him if he made a habit of re-gifting roses; I was almost joking.

His face lost color and his eyes got big.

“How did you know?”

The almost frozen rose was a dead give-away.

I laughed and we drove off.

The following day I got a knock on my door. A florist delivered a dozen (fresh) roses.

The note included an apology about the re-gifted rose.

I never dated him again and honestly it really wasn’t about the cold, re-gifted rose. He was a good guy, a little frugal, but a good guy.

I’m not really sure, but I’m guessing I was the last that received a re-gifted rose.

© LifeasChristine, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to LifeasChristine with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

